Baseball History First Little League World Series in 1947

About the first Little League World Series baseball tournament held in 1947, history of the event.


After some 8 years of slow growth, beginning in 1939, the 1st official Little League Tournament was held at what was then known as the Max M. Brown Memorial Park. The site in Williamsport, Pa., since has become known as the Original Little League Field.

In the 1st tournament, 11 teams were entered for a total of 10 games. A 12th team, Montgomery, had to bow out at the last moment. All but one of the teams was from Pennsylvania and most of those were from, or close to, the Williamsport area. The "outsider" was Hammonton Little League of New Jersey. Pennsylvania teams entered in the tournament came from Lock Haven, Montoursville, Perry Jersey Shore, Williamsport (Lincoln Little League, Maynard Midget League, Brandon Little League, and Sunday School Little League), and Milton (Milton Midgets).

The championship game saw Maynard Midget League of Williamsport go against Lock Haven Little League. The 2,500 fans attending saw a total of 23 runs scored as Maynard defeated the neighboring city, 16-7. Tony Ingersoll, Maynard 3rd baseman, batted 1,000 for the day, going 4 for 4. Jack Losch, center-fielder for the winners, later starred at the University of Miami and with the Green Bay Packers.

You Are Here: Trivia-Library Home » Baseball: Little League World Series » Baseball History First Little League World Series in 1947
« Baseball History of the Little League World SeriesBaseball History Second Little League World Series in 1948 »
DISCLAIMER: PLEASE READ - By printing, downloading, or using you agree to our full terms. Review the full terms at the following URL: /disclaimer.htm