Baseball History The Little League World Series of 1958

About the Little League World Series baseball tournament held in 1958, history of the youth sports event and the games.


From the 4 teams in 1957, the tournament had been expanded to 7. The entries were highlighted by the news that once again a team from Monterrey would be a strong contender.

The report proved true as the youngsters from Mexico breezed to a 10-1 victory over Kankakee, Ill., to capture the title for the 2nd year in a row.

The outcome of the final game of the classic was never in doubt as the lads from south of the border opened the scoring in the 1st inning and beat a constant staccato on home plate for 5 frames. The only run of the 6th inning was the lone score chalked up by Illinois.

Six of the Monterrey runs were home runs by Andres Galvan, Manuel Mora, Hugo Lozano, and Juan Castro. Hector Torres was almost the perfect pitcher for the Monterrey team, holding the Illinois boys hitless for 4 innings.

The consolation game was won by Gadsden, Ala., by virtue of its 2-0 win over Darien, Conn., in 9 innings of play.

Other teams participating in the Series were Valleyfield, Quebec, Canada; Honolulu, Hawaii; and Portland, Oreg.

You Are Here: Trivia-Library Home » Baseball: Little League World Series » Baseball History The Little League World Series of 1958
« Baseball History The Little League World Series of 1957Baseball History The Little League World Series of 1959 »
DISCLAIMER: PLEASE READ - By printing, downloading, or using you agree to our full terms. Review the full terms at the following URL: /disclaimer.htm