Baseball History The Little League World Series of 1959

About the Little League World Series baseball tournament held in 1959, history of the youth sports event and the games.


Although the setting had changed to the new stadium in South Williamsport, the trappings were much the same. In fact, the winner of the 13th annual World Series was the Hamtramck (Mich.) Little League which was making its 3rd bid to cop the crown, as Art Deras led his Hamtramck teammates to a 12-0 victory over Auburn (Calif.) Little League.

Deras, who had turned in 10 no-hit ball-games in season play, struck out 14 batters and walked only 2 in his 3-hit effort. He further aided his team's cause with a 3-run homer in the 5th inning--his 33rd of the season.

Bobby Sunada, an American-born Japanese right-hander, suffered his 1st defeat in 3 years of Little League pitching with the California team.

Auburn opened the game with a single by Phil Olrich and a line shot down 3rd by Sunada giving rise to high hopes for the California rooters. The West Coast lads failed to muster a scoring punch, however, and never threatened again.

The consolation game was won by Schenectady, N.Y., 1-0 over Oahu, Hawaii. Teams from Valleyfield, Quebec, Canada; San Juan, Puerto Rico; and Gadsden, Ala., contested the early games.

You Are Here: Trivia-Library Home » Baseball: Little League World Series » Baseball History The Little League World Series of 1959
« Baseball History The Little League World Series of 1958Baseball History The Little League World Series of 1960 »
DISCLAIMER: PLEASE READ - By printing, downloading, or using you agree to our full terms. Review the full terms at the following URL: /disclaimer.htm