Congo: Location, History, Size, Population, & Government

About the location, history, size, population, and government in the country of Congo.



Location--In West Africa, on the equator, with a 100-mi. southwest coastline on the Atlantic Ocean. To the west, Gabon and Cameroon; to the north, the Central African Republic; to the east, Zaire.

How Created-Its modern-day borders out-lined by the explorer Francesco de Brazza, it became part of French Equatorial Africa in 1910, under the name "Moyen Congo."

Size--132,000 sq. mi. (342,000 sq. km.).

Population-Over one million: Kongo, 45%; Teke, 20%; Bangi, 16%; Gabonese Bantu, 15%; others, 4%. 45% Animist, 40% Catholic, 15% Protestant.

Who Rules-The military, under Maj. Gen. Marien Ngouabi, head of state. The National Council of the Revolution holds legislative power. Since the coup of 1968, there is one political party, the National Revolutionary Movement.

Who REALLY Rules--The People's Republic of the Congo is a member of the European Economic Community, and receives a good deal of foreign aid from France. Communist China also pours a lot of money into the country.

You Are Here: Trivia-Library Home » World Country: Congo » Congo: Location, History, Size, Population, & Government
Congo: Random Facts and Trivia »
DISCLAIMER: PLEASE READ - By printing, downloading, or using you agree to our full terms. Review the full terms at the following URL: /disclaimer.htm