Kenya: Location, History, Size, Population, & Government

About the location, history, size, population, and government of the country Kenya



Location--On the equator in East Africa. North are the Sudan and Ethiopia; east are the Somali Republic and the Indian Ocean; south is Tanzania; and west is Uganda.

How Created--Carved from British East Africa in 1963; became a republic the following year.

Size--224,960 sq. mi. (582,646 sq. km.), a bit larger than France.

Population--12.8 million: Kikuyu, 20.1%; Luo, 13.9%; Luhya, 13.3%; Kamba, 10.9%; Gusii, 6.4%; Meru, 5.1%; 65 other African tribes, 18.4%; Asian and Arab, 1.5%; European and other, 0.4%. 45% Animist, 36% Protestant, 21.8% Roman Catholic, 3.8% Muslim and Hindu.

Who Rules--The constitution provides for a chief executive who is President and a legislature, a one-house National Assembly of 158 elected members who then choose 12 additional members.

Who REALLY Rules--President Jomo Kenyatta led the former British colony to independence with the slogan "Harambee"--Swahili for "Let's all pull together." But in most ways it has been Kenyatta who has personally pulled Kenya together during the past formative decade.

You Are Here: Trivia-Library Home » World Country: Kenya » Kenya: Location, History, Size, Population, & Government
Kenya: Random Facts and Trivia »
DISCLAIMER: PLEASE READ - By printing, downloading, or using you agree to our full terms. Review the full terms at the following URL: /disclaimer.htm