Nobel Peace Prize Award for 1911 - 1925

About the winners of the Nobel Peace Prize from 1911 to 1925 including Elihu Root, Woodrow Wilson, and Nansen, as well as behind the scenes information on the decision.

1911 Tobias M. C. Asser (1838-1913), Dutch. Work: International law.

Alfred H. Fried (1844-1921), Austrian. Work: Founded peace publications.

1912 Elihu Root (1845-1937), American. Work: Pan-American relationships.

Behind the Award--A Norwegian editor called Root "an outstanding militarist, eager for conquest." It was true that during his tenure as Secretary of War, he followed American imperialist policy to some extent. However, he was in favor of Pan-American friendship, and he solved problems concerning Japanese-American relations.

1913 Henri La Fontaine (1854-1943), Belgian. Work: Pacifist publications.

1914-1916 No award because of W.W. I

1917 International Red Cross. Work: Implemented Geneva Convention; war relief.

1918 No Award

1919 Woodrow Wilson (1856-1924), American. Work: Helped to set up the League of Nations.

Behind the Award--Although he had participated in W.W. I to "make the world safe for democracy," President Wilson was an ardent pacifist whose efforts for the establishment of the League were praised by many. Later, however, the tide turned, and people began to see him as an ivory-tower ex-teacher who had been led down the garden path by wily European politicians like Clemenceau and Lloyd George, as the European nations made secret treaties that defeated the purpose of the League.

1920 Leon V. A. Bourgeois (1851-1925), French. Work: Involved with League of Nations.

1921 Karl Hjalmar Branting (1860-1925), Swedish.

Christian L. Lange (1869-1938), Norwegian. Work: Contributed to League of Nations.

Behind the Award--Prime Minister Branting was the 3rd head of a nation to win the prize.

1922 Fridtjof Nansen (1861-1930), Norwegian. Work: Helped prisoners of war and refugees.

Behind the Award--The famous Arctic explorer and relief worker, put in charge of the return of prisoners of war in 1920, performed miracles. By September, 1921, he had sent home nearly 400,000 prisoners all for only pound 400,000. As Commissioner for Refugees for the League of Nations, he issued an identity card (the "Nansen passport"), approved by 52 governments, which helped the refugees find homes and work in new countries. Danish writer Jens M. Jensen said of him, "The Nobel Peace Prize has in the course of the years been given to many different sorts of men. It has surely never been awarded to anyone who in such a short time has carried out such far-reaching practical peace work as Nansen."

1923 No Award

1924 No Award

1925 J. Austen Chamberlain (1863-1937), British. Work: Locarno Pact.

Charles G. Dawes (1865-1951), American. Work: Dawes Plan (German reparations).

You Are Here: Trivia-Library Home » Nobel Prize Awards: Physiology and Medicine » Nobel Peace Prize Award for 1911 - 1925
« Nobel Peace Prize Award for 1901 - 1910
DISCLAIMER: PLEASE READ - By printing, downloading, or using you agree to our full terms. Review the full terms at the following URL: /disclaimer.htm