Templeton Foundation Prize for Religious Progress History and Award Winners

About the Templeton Foundation Prize for Progress in Religion, history and award winners.

The Templeton Foundation Prize for Progress in Religion

Who: John Templeton, a retired U.S. investment counselor, established an award in 1973 "to do for religion what Alfred Nobel did for science and literature."

What: "Established to call attention to and provide recognition of ideas, insights, actions, accomplishments which have been or may be instrumental in widening or deepening man's knowledge and love of God."

When: Given annually in April.

Where: Headquarters: Templeton Foundation, Inc., P. O. Box 408, Englewood, N.J. 07631. European Office: 2 Bristow Park, Upper Malone Road, Belfast BT9 6th, North Ireland.

Prize: $97,600 or pound 40,000 "awarded each year at a celebration in honor of the recipient."

Eligible: "Nominations will be sought from a wide constituency that will include all the major religions of the world. Official organizations will be invited to submit nominations, and leaders of the theological and religious institutions will be contacted for nominations. . . . The judges will consider a nominee's contribution to the knowledge and love of God made during his entire career. Qualities sought in awarding the Prize will be freshness, creativity, innovation and effectiveness. Such contribution may involve a study, or a life, or the inspiration of a new movement or thrust in religion, or a religious institution."

Judges: A panel of 9 judges representative of the world's major faiths. A central committee screens annual nominations, with finalists submitted to the panel of judges.

The current Templeton Prize judges are: Her Majesty Fabiola, Roman Catholic, Queen of the Belgians; Professor Suniti Kumar Chatterji, Hindu, National Professor of India in the Humanities; Sir Muhammad Zafrulla Khan, Islamic scholar, former president of the International Court of Justice at The Hague; The Rev. Dr. James McCord, Protestant, president of Princeton Theological Seminary, U.S.; Sir Alan Mocatta, Jewish, judge of the Queen's Bench Division of the High Court, England; The Lord Abbot Kosho Ohtani, Buddhist, patriarch of the Shin Sects, Japan; The Rev. Dr. Norman Vincent Peale, Protestant, minister of Marble Collegiate Church, U.S.; Her Serene Highness Princess Poon Pismai Diskul, Buddhist, president of the World Fellowship of Buddhists; The Rt. Rev. Robin Woods, Anglican, Bishop of Worcester, England.

Award Winners:

1973 Mother Teresa, Yugoslavia. For her work in ministering to the ailing and poor in the slums of Calcutta, India. For establishing an order of nuns that helps the needy in South America, Tanzania, Jordan, Ceylon, Australia, Northern Ireland.

1974 Brother Roger, prior of the Taize Community in France. For establishing in Taize a nondenominational group of brothers dedicated to bringing about a visible unity among Christians. For his Council of Youth, conceived in 1970, whose worldwide membership consists of thousands of young adults.

1975 Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, former professor of Eastern religion and ethics at Oxford, 1st Indian to be elected a Fellow of the British Academy, former president of India. For his lifelong efforts which "led to a rediscovery of God" and for his "special contribution to modern Hinduism."

You Are Here: Trivia-Library Home » Templeton Foundation Prize for Religious Progress » Templeton Foundation Prize for Religious Progress History and Award Winners
DISCLAIMER: PLEASE READ - By printing, downloading, or using you agree to our full terms. Review the full terms at the following URL: /disclaimer.htm