Uganda: Location, History, Size, Population, & Government

About the location, size, population, and government of the country Uganda.



Location--Landlocked on the equator in east-central Africa. Bordered on the north by the Sudan, east by Kenya, south by Tanzania with which it shares Lake Victoria, southwest by Rwanda, and on the west by Zaire.

How Created--This former East African Protectorate of Britain became a fully independent member of the Commonwealth in 1962 by the union of the kingdoms of Buganda (largest and most important), Toro, Ankole, and Bunyoro. Its emergence as a republic in 1967 abolished the traditional kingdoms.

Size--91,452 sq. mi. (236,860 sq. km.).

Population--11,500,000: Bantu, including Baganda, Iteso, Banyankore, and Basoga, ca. 93.5%; non-Ugandan Africans, 5.7%; Asian and European, less than 1%. 60% Christian, 33% Animist, 5% Muslim.

Who Rules--The President, together with the lawmaking National Assembly in which he serves with 91 other elected members.

Who REALLY Rules--The President, Maj. Gen. Idi Amin, whose military coup overthrew the former President while he was abroad.

You Are Here: Trivia-Library Home » World Country: Uganda » Uganda: Location, History, Size, Population, & Government
Uganda: Random Facts and Trivia »
DISCLAIMER: PLEASE READ - By printing, downloading, or using you agree to our full terms. Review the full terms at the following URL: /disclaimer.htm